Goodbye Busisiwe: 23.12.81 – 12.03.07

March 17, 2007 latifah

Today we said goodbye to Busi. What was fitting was that her funeral service was held at Soweto’s largest Catholic Church, Regina Mundi

<blockquote>When protesting students were fired at by police on their way to Orlando Stadium on June 16 1976, and Hector Pieterson and many others were killed, the students fled for sanctuary to Regina Mundi. With buckets of water at the ready, they managed to douse the teargas canisters thrown into the church by police. But then police stormed the church, firing live ammunition. Although no one was killed, many were injured and the church’s sacred symbols were damaged. The broken marble alter, the bullet holes in the ceilings and the damaged figure of Christ all bear testimony to the terrible lack of restraint shown by police that day.

Regina Mundi has always been a home to the community of Soweto and has functioned as a centre for important community events. Anti-apartheid stalwart Dr Nthato Motlana once described Regina Mundi as “not just a church – it is the people’s church, the church of the nation”.
</blockquote>

Regina Mundi was Busi’s local church where she went every Sunday. She also was a fighter. She stood up and spoke out about all those things that most people do not want to hear. She was not afraid to stand up as say she was raped, declare her HIV status and that she was a woman who loved other women. I didn’t know her long but I have her face in my mind, her photos and most of all her words. On Friday, Breaking the Silence: positive Survivors – published by POWA as an annual writing competition, was launched and a piece by Busi was not only included but she received one of the prizes. She had everything going for her. I have not made many real friends here in South Africa – actually apart from V and M who are not even South Africans there are only two and Busi was one. I will REMEMBER YOU WHEN YOU ARE GONE.

<strong>
REMEMBER ME WHEN I’M GONE FOR……I</strong>

Wrote stories for the nations to read
Stood without fear and told my story
I smiled and greeted without judging
I influenced positive living to the sick
I planted seeds of hope to the hopeless
I groomed and growed the younger ones whose parents died
I created artistic designes with my hands
I crafted and drew beautiful pictures
I installed educatioanl reasoning to some
I taught represented the minority to the majority
I made nations aware
I wronged some and made some happy
I survived against odds
I swallowed my medication even as hard as it was it was sometimes
I did so to remain strong and to llive my live regardless of my status
I fought for women to be taken into serious conideration by our government
I wrote and said “my” spoke word
I fought and showed many that there’s nothing wrong with being diabetic, epileptic and HIV
I represented many of the HIV infected lesbian sisters
I told the truth nevermind the judgements
I lived and I’m still living
I loved and prayed to my GOD
I prayed without hesitation , for , I believe/d
I was a big sister to my younger sisters
I listened to my mother’s teachings
I became friends with father
I’D DIE FOR MY FAMILY, I LOVED THEM SO!
I captured moments with my camera
I brought forth what was unseen to the nations through the power of image,pen and paper
I struggled to make it life
I was taken for a ride by some whom i thought were friends
I showed my rapist how strong i was regardless that he poisoned my blood with his HIV
I beieved and prayed
I stood low and respected all regardless of their age,colour and size
I say along with others
I had a unique voice
I had a message to deliver and a vision to see
I tried,i fell and i never succeeded sometimes
I was patient while to some i was strange
I was loved by some and was hated by some,STILL i did my thing
I loved and appreciated beautiful women
I loved her more than life itself
Some would say…
I am full shit! but spiritually i was full
I was fed with GOD’s glory that’s why I praised HIM
I praised HIM more than i praised friends
I am my mother’s daughter
I made history and marked historical books of this world
SO………
REMEMBER ME WHEN I’M GONE!
FOR..without no doubt i’ll and i am in peace with my maker and creator.

AMEN!

Thanks to all those who of you who posted comments at Black Looks to acknowledged Busi’s life and sent her your blessings – it has helped a great deal.

Your friend Sokari

I think it would be wonderful if Busi’s short life could be celebrated by people using Busi’s space as a palce to write their own stories and poems. I dont know if that will happen but it would be wonderful if it did. If anyone wants poems published here in memory of Busi please email me at info@blacklooks.org and I will post the poem or story as long as it fits in with What Busi stood for. I am sure she would love that and I believe she is there watching over all of us that passed through her life. She knows who is who and who is not!

Entry Filed under: Journal

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sokari  |  April 2, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Remembering Busi

  • 2. Conversations for a Bette&hellip  |  August 13, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    […] did not survive in this beautiful world as she succumbed to her disease in March, 2007. But her blog and poetry […]

  • 3. Global Voices Online &raq&hellip  |  August 13, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    […] did not survive in this beautiful world as she succumbed to her disease in March, 2007. But her blog and poetry […]

  • 4. Global Voices teny Malaga&hellip  |  August 14, 2009 at 3:57 am

    […] Efa nandao ity tany mahafinaritra ity i Busi fa nentin'ny aretiny tamin'ny Marsa 2007. Saingy mbola mijoro ho vavolombelon'ny fiainany ny bolongany sy ny poeziany, tahaka ny bolongan'ny hafa ihany koa raha mbola nofinofy ny fahasitranana. […]

  • 5. Global Voices em Portugu&hellip  |  August 17, 2009 at 8:51 am

    […] não sobreviveu nesse belo mundo, tendo falecido em decorrência da doença em março de 2007. Mas seu blog e […]

  • 6. Global Voices in Italiano&hellip  |  August 20, 2009 at 4:50 am

    […] non ce l'ha fatta a sopravvivere [in] in questo bel mondo e si è arresa alla malattia nel marzo del 2007. Ma il suo blog e la sua […]

  • 7. Blogueando con VIH: ̶&hellip  |  August 23, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    […] no sobrevivió en este hermoso mundo ya que sucumbió a su enfermedad en marzo del 2007. Pero su blog y su poesía […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

